Make your own free website on

Critical Hits 

We do not use the critical hits rules as presented in the PHB. Instead, we treat all attack rolls that fall within the critical threat ranges as automatic critical hits, doing the increased damage. Also, for purposes of determining the exact amount of damage, all modifiers are added to the weapon’s normal dice roll, which is then multiplied at the weapon’s critical hit value.

Critical Misses (Fumbles)

When a character rolls a natural 1, he has a chance to fumble. The character must immediately roll a dexterity check against a DC10 or lose any remaining actions that round and actions for the following round. 


Characters may earn experience several different ways. Experience is awarded for defeating monsters, per the creature’s challenge rating. Experience is awarded for completing certain story elements, such as cleaning out a keep, rescuing the princess, etc. Experience is awarded for role-playing. And experience is awarded for extraordinary situations, such as defeating a foe in single combat, outwitting the DM, or other event. These awards are all determined by the DM.

Players also vote on two experience awards each session - Quote of the Week and Best Role-player. In the case of a tie each player receives the full award. Currently, each award is worth 500xp.

Finally, players earn individual awards based on their actions during the game. They include:

10xp per hit die of foe defeated (DM’s Note: This now applies to all classes)
50xp for each spell cast to defeat a foe or solve a problem
50xp for each trap defeated, either through avoidance, disarming, or survival
50xp for a successful turning

Multi-classing (except paladins and monks)

Each character is free to choose to multi-class their character. Any new class added must be cleared with the DM before change so the DM is aware of the character’s new abilities.

Paladins and Monks

Under PHB rules, paladins and monks may multi-class but can never again advance as a paladin or monk. This rule will be adhered to, as high level paladins and monks are powerful enough without added classes.

More powerful familiars and mounts

Sorcerers and wizards may call familiars, and paladins may call war horses. If a player desires a more powerful familiar than listed or a mount other than a warhorse, they must speak with the DM first. The standard rule is a character must be one level higher than the creature desired. For example, if the player wanted a pegasus with six hit-die, then the character must wait until seventh level to call the pegasus.